Week 3 Reading Reflection and Scholarship

This week we read Chapter 1: DIY Media: A contextual background and some contemporary themes. I truly really enjoyed the subject matter of this article. It was all about aiming to introduce ourselves to DIY or do-it-yourself media. It discusses how today’s youth is doing a lot of “digital media” and having ourselves as educators more informed about these practices to be able to apply it to teach students in a more modern way. I enjoyed the article because it was discussing how we can adapt education to fit the needs of more modern times rather than being negative about the new technology and pushing to keep things the same. I feel like it is a step in the right direction because as a society we are definitely becoming more and more tech based. As it says in the chapter, “They are not just curious about what kids are doing. Rather, they want to be able to make meaningful and respectful connections to these practices; connections that will contribute to learning in ways that will enhance…”.

In the chapter we learn about the do-it-yourself method and its origins. Interestingly enough the term comes from the mid-1950s and references mainly men taking on larger tasks in the home or on the family vehicle. This was done to cut down on having to pay a fortune for a licensed worker to complete the task. In today’s day and age I feel like most people will first see if they can address the problem themselves before resorting to calling someone.

The chapter also describes how the do-it-yourself movement really spiked as tools and knowledge became more and more accessible to everyday people. So for example, smaller more affordable power tools became available and the local community colleges started offering classes to teach what was previously considered to be tasks only done by “professionals”. Then the chapter discusses the DIY ethic which is when you refer “…to the ethic of being self-reliant by completing tasks oneself as opposed to having others who are likely more experiences complete them.” I feel like I can definitely relate to this ethic because

Lastly, I wanted to discuss the participation phenomenon that Jenkins calls “participatory culture”. Participatory culture is exactly what is sounds like, it is what happens when “consumers take media into their own hands”. When I read this section I started thinking about how it applies to digital storytelling.

For my interest driven article I wanted to find an article about how the do-it-yourself mentally affects children seeing as my storytelling theme is “Through the Eyes of a Toddler”. I was actually able to locate the perfect article! In the Chicago Tribune, they published an article called “Fun ways to teach kids DIY skills”. The article begins by describing a time in the author’s life that he got to help in a DIY project with his dad and how memorable the experience was. I can totally relate to that feeling and immediately began drawing connections to my own childhood. I remember in 5th grade when I made a wooden bird house with my grandfather. He helped but I really did a majority of the project by myself. The feeling of accomplishment was just great but more importantly it showed me that even though I was young I could accomplish big tasks. I think it is very important that we teach children young that they can take on big things too! It helps with a feeling of inner strength which helps as we reach adulthood.Fun ways to teach kids DIY skills article here.

Leave a Reply

